New to Linux, trying to understand the playing field

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
MintNovice24
Level 1
Level 1

New to Linux, trying to understand the playing field

Post by MintNovice24 »

Greetings!

I'm a gray beard automation professional, and have always had Linux on the infinite list of 'things I should learn someday'. Well, today is the day. I've got extensive Windows experience, and DOS before that. My professional arc includes providing support on all kinds of automation systems, VMWare, Ethernet, and so on, so I understand the importance of being self sufficient.

Having said all that.. I feel like a stranger in a strange land here. It's been a LONG time since I've been this much of a noob. Not sure of how to exactly formulate the question(s) I have to get to the right people, and not unnecessarily burden people as I find my way. To start I took an older i7 Windows 10 Laptop, wiped it, and successfully installed Linux Mint Cinnamon V21.3 using some of the excellent step by step instructions on the web. I've installed a few additional programs via the same carefully follow instruction approach, and each has installed correctly. I have been 'dumbed down' by windows installs over the years, but there is some rust coming off the memory as I recall the more involved installs of 'the good old days' (You kids! Get off my lawn!!)