Firefox Help: How to fix 'Updates Disabled by your system administrator'

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
endalldisease
Level 2
Level 2

Post by endalldisease »

Hey there,
I noticed in firefox Settings/Help/About firefox it says "updates disabled by your system administrator."
I AM the system administrator and I'd like to enable updates for Firefox but don't know how.

I looked up how to do this on duckduckgo but I'm a beginner and the solutions were either too complex or didn't work.

What's the simplest way to enable updates?
Last edited by karlchen on Wed Jun 01, 2022 7:45 am, edited 2 times in total.
Exploring the Metabolic Origins of Disease and How to Conquer it Using Therapies That Won't Kill You!
https://www.endalldisease.com
spamegg
Level 14
Level 14

Re: Firefox Help: How to fix 'Updates Disabled by your system administrator'

Post by spamegg »

You don't have to do anything. Read here: https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=4259
MikeNovember
Level 7
Level 7

Post by MikeNovember »

Hi,

If you use Firefox found in Mint distribution, it is a deb package; it will be automatically updated by the update manager, and cannot update itself.

If you want a Firefox version with self automatic update, use Firefox downloaded from Mozilla website.

Regards,

MN
Level 23
Level 23

Post by karlchen »

MikeNovember wrote: Mon Feb 28, 2022 5:42 amIf you use Firefox found in Mint distribution, it is a deb package; it will be automatically updated by the update manager, and cannot update itself
Correct! This has been so for ages. Update Manager has kept Firefox up to date.
Firefox could not use its internal updater, because it had been disabled. (simple setting under about:config)

Only: Firefox had not announced that it could not do self-updating.
Now it foolishly does & displays; 'Updates Disabled by your system administrator'.