CAnt turn on WIFI card...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

CAnt turn on WIFI card...

Postby Klamath on Sat Nov 07, 2009 6:29 am

Hello.
Im new in Mint and i have a problem. I cant turn on the wifi card.
And second think if i open wirles network drivers and want to configure new network
it just write me : could ot find network configuration tool.

I have linux mint 7 (gloria) 32 bit
and wifi card is Broadcom BCM43xx.
I also found and install driwers for it (mint did it automatically)

Thanks for help
Klamath
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 6:19 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: CAnt turn on WIFI card...

Postby DrHu on Sat Nov 07, 2009 6:35 am

Klamath wrote:it just write me : could ot find network configuration tool.

More context: hardware, software
Mint version being used, status of Network settings
In terminal, check
    uname -a
    --version of Mint running on your system
    inxi -S
    --same information as above, different format
    ifconfig
    --is the network device detected
    inxi -i
--same information as above, different format
netstat -rn
--is the network running, you should see some IP addresses
ping -c 4 127.0.0.1
--is TCP/IP activated.. [/list]

Network Manager (Gnome)..
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.p ... 03551.html
    In terminal, check
    ps aux | grep NetworkManager
    --do you have Network manager running on the system..
    If you kill it, or if you didn't see it in the ps aux | grep NetworkManager, go to command line and enter:
    sudo NetworkManager
Checking name for application, network manager
    In terminal, check
    NetworkManager
    You must be root to run NetworkManager!
    --so you do need sudo NetworkManager , if it has not started

You can also check mint menu>Control center>Internet and Network>Network connections
    To edit (add) or change the network connections
If it is only that the network applet (the broadcast speaker wave icon is missing
right-click panel>Add to Panel>Notification Area; to get any notification icons to appear (including the Network manager), if it had been missing..
Last edited by DrHu on Sat Nov 07, 2009 6:57 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6710
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: CAnt turn on WIFI card...

Postby Klamath on Sat Nov 07, 2009 6:46 am

i did that and it written bash: networkmanager: command not founnd

uname -a
Linux gerry-laptop 2.6.28-11-generic #42-Ubuntu SMP Fri Apr 17 01:57:59 UTC 2009 i686 GNU/Linux


inxi -i
Network: Card-1 Broadcom BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller driver b43-pci-bridge
Card-2 Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS900 PCI Fast Ethernet driver sis900
Wan IP: 79.97.142.14 Interface: eth0 79.97.142.14

netstat -rn
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
79.97.142.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
0.0.0.0 79.97.142.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
gerry@gerry-laptop ~ $ ping -c 4 127.0.0.1
PING 127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.050 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.043 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.047 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.050 ms

--- 127.0.0.1 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 2997ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.043/0.047/0.050/0.007 ms


if im checking the network manager i have no chance to scan for new networks
Klamath
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 6:19 am

Re: CAnt turn on WIFI card...

Postby DrHu on Sat Nov 07, 2009 9:18 am

Klamath wrote:if im checking the network manager i have no chance to scan for new networks
I have no clue what that means

If the network is not working for you, why are you scanning for anything..

Your data
    0.0.0.0 79.97.142.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
You do not have the wireless card active, and you missed the most important display
ifconfig
--shows the nic(s) (network Interface cards) detected by the OS
    79.97.142.1
--very odd looking GW (gateway/router IP address), routers for Internet connections usually use 192.168.xxx.xxx, for a non broadcasting private (LAN) network connection.
    If you don't have that type of IP, I assume you don't have your own ISP or are not connecting to a router (dedicated connection), but instead are either connecting to other computers (ad hoc), not the type of reliable network connection method usually needed for Internet connections..
http://www.duxcw.com/faq/network/privip.htm
http://www.duxcw.com/faq/network/autoip.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_network

In any case
sudo ifconfig wlan0 UP
--will try an activate the wireless card
iwlist
iwconfig
--equivalent to ifconfig, except for wireless cards..

Now is the broadcom card a usb one or is it built in, since there are some issues with broadcom chipsets..
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=34955&p=203345&hilit=broadcom+wireless#p203345
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.p ... 0-p-2.html
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/355645
post 4..

If you are not using the Ethernet connection, probably the quickest way to force the wireless is to use the BIOS and turn off the LAN cable (Ethernet), then there will be only one NIC available on boot, see what works or doesn't work at that point..
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6710
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: CAnt turn on WIFI card...

Postby bobcollard on Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:15 pm

May sound silly, but, do you have a button on your keyboard to disable network when on a plane? Mine is the F2 button. Try hitting that once and check on your connection if you have it.
Robert Collard, Springfield, IL
Dell Inspiron 1545 Laptop, Intel Duo T3400 CPUs @2.16 Ghz. 4GB RAM
Linux Mint Debian Edition, Xfce 4.6.2 Desktop, 2.6.37-0.dmz.6-liquorix-amd64
User avatar
bobcollard
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Springfield, IL


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, jb2012, Mute Ant, PattiM, pep333, uvajed and 44 guests