freenas

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

freenas

Postby crackpot on Fri Jun 26, 2009 12:56 pm

i and hello
i ave used ubuntu pclinux so and pc linux minime but new to linux mint if i install this on my desktop and my laptop
will i still be able to connect to my freenas server or will i have start from scratch with my freenas server or will mint see
the freenas server and mout the nas as a volue disc as i have very inportent data storded on nas as i used xp the most
when building new compurts for peoply its easy tofind the shares and map it as anetwork drive and i what to do the same with linux mint
and get rid of xp my self any help please
crackpot
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:30 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: freenas

Postby DrHu on Sat Jun 27, 2009 3:57 am

http://www.freenas.org/index.php?option ... &id=sug:en
4.1. Default login name and password
If you can ping another device from the FreeNAS PC, then from another computer on the same subnet, point your Web Browser at the FreeNAS PCs IP Address (http://192.168.8.128 in this example) You should be presented with a login/password dialogue box like that shown here.

Don't you just connect to the freenas IP address ?
At the login/password dialogue Enter:
  • Default Username as admin,
  • Default password as freenas
  • Select OK
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6292
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: freenas

Postby crackpot on Sat Jun 27, 2009 5:16 am

i think you mist the point what i im trying to to is map the drive like you do in windows soit shows up as a net work drive simaler to windows
is this posable imo i can get to it by browser by ether http or ftp ftp lets me work with it but i just what to sort of map the drive and mout to desktop
and access the drive from there
crackpot
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:30 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: austin.texas, Interest, sevlis90 and 57 guests