Help! Software Manager and Update Manager not working

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
michaelharned

Help! Software Manager and Update Manager not working

Post by michaelharned »

I am a newbie running Linux Mint 15 Olivia Cinnamon Edition 64-bit. The Software Manager and Update Manager just stopped working. When I try to start the Software Manager, it asks for my password but then nothing happens. The Update Manager gives me a message which says "Could not refresh the list of packages." Can anyone help?
zedzdead

Re: Help! Software Manager and Update Manager not working

Post by zedzdead »

Try to reboot, see if that fixes it because it may just be a crash. If not report back here
michaelharned

Post by michaelharned »

I had rebooted but I just did it again. It doesn't help.
passerby

Post by passerby »

Try running either/both from the terminal. That way we'll get debugging info if nothing else.
eg. Open a terminal (Accessories > Terminal), run "sudo mintupdate", enter your password when prompted (nothing will show up while you're typing; this is normal).
MtnDewManiac
Level 6
Level 6

Post by MtnDewManiac »

Does Synaptic Package Manager work? If it does (make sure by trying to install something), use it to uninstall Update Manager and then install it again. But to be safe, hand-copy all of your settings and sources from it onto a piece of paper so that if it successfully installs, but does so in a virgin state, you can get everything back.