Starting gnome display manager – failed: What to do?<SOLVED>

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Starting gnome display manager – failed: What to do?<SOLVED>

Postby Agathon on Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:16 pm

Hi, really need some help:
Yesterday I tried to install “pirateplayer” (I copy/pasted the commands in the installation guide shown in “Ladda ner och installera”Debian/Ubuntu):
http://pirateplay.se/player.html


This didn’t work as expected, (nothing happened when I tried to start the application after installation).
Instead I installed Wine and tried to install the windows version of pirateplayer in Wine and that worked fine.


But then I tried to restart the computer but once Linux Mint is loading nothing happens, if I press ESC I see a list where everything is loaded correctly except Starting gnome display manager – failed If I press Ctrl+alt+delete the rest parts are loading correctly and computer is rebooting.

I guess I need to reinstall gnome display manager, but how do I do that or is there other ways to fix this?
I tried ldconfig in root but got this message:

sbin/ldconfig.real: Cant create temporary cache file /etc/id.so.catche~1 read-Only file system

(Using Mint 14 Mate)
Last edited by Agathon on Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Agathon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:46 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Starting gnome display manager – failed : What to do?

Postby jungle_boy on Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:46 pm

What to do?

Reinstall the system...
LM17 Cinnamon (PC and Notebook) with AMD Catalyst
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Re: Starting gnome display manager – failed : What to do?

Postby Mechrawr on Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:17 pm

If you followed those directions exactly, it looks like you just installed a whole bunch of libraries and desktop components. I'm willing to bet that some of that overrode key parts of the Gnome launch sequence.

To begin effectively fixing this, I'll suggest going into TTY while it's booted, and not just in the root menu. As soon as it gets stuck (while you're at the part where you could pres ESC), hit Ctrl+Alt+F1 to get into TTY (basically terminal with no GUI at all). If F1 is busy doing something, try F2, you should have TTYs available all the way up to F6.

I haven't had much experience with symbolic links, but if you feel that will be useful, I can tell you either being in root or not using a sudo may have been the problem with the ldconfig you tried (I'm looking at the "read-only"). I found this site which might help you use ldconfig a bit better; I guess it involves digging through some of your libraries to find what you want to work.

If you do just want to reinstall gnome (probably not a bad solution), just throw this in the TTY:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install --reinstall gnome-shell
Never accept the simple answers; the journey through complexity is where learning takes place.
User avatar
Mechrawr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:09 am
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Starting gnome display manager – failed : What to do?

Postby Agathon on Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:52 pm

Mechrawr, once again, thanks, it works excellent, back in business!
I'm so grateful that you take the time to help me when I have screwed up:)
Agathon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: Starting gnome display manager – failed : What to do?

Postby Mechrawr on Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:41 pm

No trouble at all, just helping out wherever I can. If one person has the problem, many people have the problem ;)

Speaking of which, want to do the honors of adding "<SOLVED>" or something like that to the post title? That way it can both streamline the general effort, as well as help others search for answers a bit better!
Never accept the simple answers; the journey through complexity is where learning takes place.
User avatar
Mechrawr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:09 am
Location: Massachusetts


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests