IT professional, student or hobbyist?

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.

Professional status in relation to Linux

Works in IT, including using Linux.
18%
Works in IT but does not use Linux as part of role.
20%
Non-IT job
24%
Retired, ex-IT, Engineering or similar
18%
At university/college
No votes
Still in school
2%
Other (explain)
18%

Total votes: 45

martienne

IT professional, student or hobbyist?

Post by martienne »

Some people here are amazingly knowledgeable - I am in awe.
Just a poll to get a feeling for whether people are professional techies or something else.
Feel free to elaborate in your response.

I am an IT project manager. Have been a developer. On rare occasions I have had reason to work on databases running on Unix or Linux for work. Or carry out some urgent maintenance or troubleshooting. At the time I found it intimidating and very difficult.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
richyrich

Re: IT professional, student or hobbyist?

Post by richyrich »

Retired MCSE, MCP, A+. Have been using Linux for over 20 years, exclusively (no win whatsoever) since Mint 7 Helena.
Last edited by richyrich on Fri Nov 20, 2015 8:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Pierre
Level 21
Level 21

Post by Pierre »

Retired from Telecommunications Industry,
also have A+ cert.

been messing with Linux for over 15 years,
& re-building computers for 30 yrs, & PCs for maybe 20 yrs.

now a hobbyist.
:D
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.
srq2625

Post by srq2625 »