I'm a noob that did a speech on Linux

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Jaydemir

Post by Jaydemir »

So as the title claims, I did a speech about Linux in my public speaking class. It was meant to be an informative piece, and I oversimplified a lot of things. Some people seemed interested and my professor even asked if I could install Linux on a computer of their's.

The noob part of this topic stems from the fact that I have only been messing around with Linux since about June-ish. Naturally (considering I'm here), my experience with Linux is limited to Cinnamon, Ubuntu unity, and XFCE.

Yes there is a point, yes I'm getting to it.

I had to choose a topic for my informative speech that I could also turn into a "persuasive" speech. So if you haven't put two and two together, I will eventually be persuading people to use Linux.

Of course I know first-hand how awesome it is to ditch windows, but for this speech I am going to need actual research. I have a limited amount of time, so I need to figure out which 'areas' to discuss (privacy, ease of use, etc), and how I should approach the topic (pro linux? anti windows? etc).

I'm capable of doing this whole thing myself, but I figured there would be people here who might have read some awesome articles that I might be able to use, maybe articles that inspired you to switch to Linux.

Of course, it's a one-sided speech, not a debate. I can say whatever I want to these people. I just want to make the speech fun and easy to follow. I don't know how riled up I can get people to be against windows when 70% of my classmates use Macbooks. I have almost ZERO experience with OS X.