Do You Use Command Line/Terminal?

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
c07vus

Post by c07vus »

So

I'm relatively new to Linux Mint (which I think is the best OS I have ever used) and up to this point I have been pretty lazy when it comes to Command Line/Terminal so thought I'd but in more effort to learn and use it properly. Wow. I love it! It makes me feel techy when in reality I'm still learning the basics and it has given me a whole new interest in my own PC and the way it works.

Here is a question though, just for questions sake - are there any experienced Linux users who prefer using the GUI to Terminal? If so, why?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Pjotr
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Do You Use Command Line/Terminal?

Post by Pjotr »

c07vus wrote:are there any experienced Linux users who prefer using the GUI to Terminal? If so, why?
That depends.... For simple tasks (installing or removing applications, moving or renaming files, etc.) the terminal is definitely easiest and quickest.

But for tasks that become easier with graphical feedback, I prefer a graphical application. A good example is partitioning a disk: for that, GParted is by far the best tool.....
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
jimallyn
Level 19
Level 19

Post by jimallyn »

I suppose I could be called an experienced user; I have been using Linux since 2002. I use the GUI most of the time, but I do use the terminal now and then. It can be very powerful.