Debian Cinnamon Queries

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
DocTomJP

Debian Cinnamon Queries

Post by DocTomJP »

I have recently installed Debian+Cinnamon, and I am slowly learning about the system. I am a long-term but not expert Windows user who wants to migrate away from MS.
First impressions are very favourable.
But in searching for stuff about Cinnamon, I am confronted (as might be expected quite reasonably) with the behaviour of Cinnamon in Mint, not Debian.
The Debian version seems to be a little different from what is described in the Mint documents.

For example, I cannot get the System Settings Icon on to the Panel, neither by drag-drop, nor from the add-applets to panel function. In fact the latter shows that I have the app on the panel, but I do not. There is an inverted V sign on the panel, which a mouse hover says is - settings, but when I click it, all I get is a box which says - troubleshoot and panel edit mode. Can anyone advise me how to put the System Settings icon on the panel to act as a shortcut please?

I have read in Debian tutorials that one should use the sync command before shutdown in order to clear the memory cache. Does anyone know please if the Cinnamon Quit-Shutdown procedure does (or not) clear the cache as recommended?

Similarly, does the Safe to Remove USB drive message (via a right-click) mean that the drive is now un-mounted as is apparently the correct procedure in Debian?

I apologise in advance if these are queries that are either stupid, or that should be directed to Debian. But they seem to me to be Cinnamon questions, so I will be grateful for any guidance. If there is a document that explains these points, I will be very happy to be pointed in its direction.

DocTom.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.