Linux Distros for old Dell laptop

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
greyowl

Linux Distros for old Dell laptop

Post by greyowl »

I have an old Dell laptop which currently has XP and functions fine. I am considering switching it to linux but concerned if it will run slow or if the hardware, printer, and scanner will work. Below are the specs:

Dell Latitude D600 laptop
1.6 Ghz Pentium M processor
1 GB RAM
20 GB hard drive
Sigma Tel C-Major Audio
Mobility Radeon 9000 video
CD RW/DVD drive
Epson Perfection 1260 scanner (USB port)
Okidata OL 610e printer (parallel port)

I would want to remove XP completely and then install Linux on the hard drive. I have never used Linux before. I have reinstalled XP many times.
Would it install similar to XP?
Would drivers be available for the hardware, printer, and scanner? Would they be plug and play?
Would it run as fast or faster than XP?
What distros or versions would work best?

Thanks for the help.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Pjotr
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Linux Distros for old Dell laptop

Post by Pjotr »

I advise to select Linux Mint 17.1 with the lightweight Xfce desktop. During the countdown of the Mint DVD, hit the space bar and select the "forcepae" boot option (which is necessary for Pentium M processors).

I expect that everything will work just fine, but you can test that beforehand with the Mint DVD, in the tryout session (live session). :)

One final remark: although the hard drive has sufficient space, it's unusually small for a laptop of that age. How come?
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips