OpenSuse or Mint?

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Huskell

OpenSuse or Mint?

Post by Huskell »

Hello, I know here is the Mint forums, but I would like your honest opinions about the topic.

I'm very new to linux, and know some things but not much. I only have one PC (notebook) and I use it to work as programmer, I'll install one of these two distributions at it. I would like a distro that is easy and I can learn things when I have free time, and at the same time is stable and comfortable to use as workstation. Couldn't find a live OpenSuse, so I've only tested the Mint so far, and I liked it, but I want to make sure that it will not dissapoint me, since I use this PC for work, I would like to avoid formatting it often.

If you know other distros that fill my needs, you can write about it too. Thanks.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
BigEasy
Level 6
Level 6

Re: OpenSuse or Mint?

Post by BigEasy »

Officialy, stable is any stable distro release (meaning not alpfa, beta, release candidate, e.t.c) . But result depend of your hardware. No guarantee that everything will work at cpecific hardware just right "out of the box". Not out of the box too.
Feeling comfort depend of persone used specific OS with specific DE. One can feel comfort, other - not.
Since you asked about OpenSUSE, I have to say that current release is not bad. But every few months they releasing new and soon you will face with problem to upgrade. No LTS, no rolling releases. Just new release after every few months. Who knows will new releases good or bad? But current release is good, as I said.
Windows assumes I'm stupid but Linux demands proof of it
vl1969

Post by vl1969 »