What was your Linux noob experience like?

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.

How long did you use Linux?

I'm new to Linux
5%
1-12 months
20%
1-5 years
24%
+5 years
50%

Total votes: 98

AdamMcC642

Post by AdamMcC642 »

The first distro I've ever used was Open-SUSE in early 2012. Since I used Windows 7 before I started using Linux, I thought that Linux would be just like Windows. I was using Windows for about a year, until I decided to switch to Ubuntu. Since my laptop had Windows pre-installed, I dual booted Ubuntu with the uninstalled Windows 8. I switched to just using Linux in mid October of 2014 after I installed Linux Mint 17 and upgraded to 17.1 on its release date. (Currently using Linux Mint 17.1) Around January 15, 2015, my laptop overheated, and I had to get it replaced. When I got that laptop, I replaced the built in Windows 8.1 with Linux Mint 17.1.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
karlchen
Level 23
Level 23

Re: What was your Linux noob experience like?

Post by karlchen »

Hi, Adam.

Could it be that you have not cast your vote in your ow poll, yet? The only voter at this point in time seems to be me. 1 vote - 100% for 5 years plus. :wink:

"5 years+" means that the first Linux distribution which succeeded in surviving the "live system" phase was Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala.
The reasons for this success were:
+ It was one of the Linux distributions which would support my SATA II controller out of the box.
+ The installation of Karmic Koala went as smoothly as all the Windows installations that I had done before.