Ummm Unstable much?

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
datajunkie

Ummm Unstable much?

Post by datajunkie »

I have been a opensource linux developer since 1995. Before that I was a Unix administrator. I have ran everything from freebsd to haiku. I won't even get into the building of my own distros, all the distros I have used or all the ones I know intimately...

I would like to point out a few things before we start. It is nice that ubuntu is trying to covert the general non linux community away from windows in an attempt to repair our geek status (which has been a plague for several years now).

However doing things in the windows methodology is not acceptable. Linux is fine the way we have developed it and the standards that have been forged through time. Windows people should conform to us or stay on that mediocre OS.... This is our world. This is LINUX.... And windows copies our world all the damn time anyway... The Linux lab at M$ dissects all opensource projects and then publishes it within the M$ culture. One thing M$ is good for is ripping other software off...

I ran ubuntu before 11 (Oneric Ocelot) and switched to debian with the complete idiocy of Unity. I am not a Distro guy, I could care less about distros, but they provide a nice package set that is usually stable. This allows for opening up to tailoring your linux install to your needs... It is not a bad idea to rock a distro... Building from scratch is time consuming... SO with that in mind I switched to Mint in desperation hoping to maintain a connection to that amazing software fluidity.