live online banking usb updating (SOLVED)

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
peacendcheeze

live online banking usb updating (SOLVED)

Post by peacendcheeze »

hi i am currently using puppy linux Precise 5.7 1 as a 'live online banking usb stick' i am not sure on how to make sure my browser on the live stick is the latest version or indeed how to keep my 'live' distro up to date and secure for the purpose of using it as an online banking tool

any advice on how to do the above would be of help or any howtos as i am a novice but know enough to at least try and keep my online banking safe as possible

with thanks
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
karlchen
Level 23
Level 23

Re: live online banking usb updating

Post by karlchen »

Hello, peacendcheeze.

Please, note that Puppy Linux 5.7.1 is not affiliated in any way with Linux Mint. Both, Linux Mint 13 and Puppy Linux 5.7.1, are based on Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin. Apart from this common base they are unrelated. The Puppy 5.7.1 homepage is here: Long-term Puppy

About the question how to upgrade your Firefox on Puppy (and software in general):

Googling for the question "Puppy Linux how to update software" returned among other hits this one: Puppy Linux - Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

In these FAQs, of special interest with respect to the question:
Please tell me how to upgrade/install Opera/SeaMonkey/Firefox/Chrome?
Opera, SeaMonkey, Firefox and Chrome
Which is the method of upgrading/installing software?
Software Installation
Watch out for the "Installing PET software packages" section. Puppy calls its software installation packages PET packages.

About the question on Puppy and security:

Also from the FAQs: