Cinnamon Crash for OnBoard Intel Haswell+Geforce GTX 770M

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
ravioactive

Cinnamon Crash for OnBoard Intel Haswell+Geforce GTX 770M

Post by ravioactive »

Hi All,

I am a novice who is trying to get Linux Mint 16 64 bit with Cinnamon to work on an Alienware m17x r5 laptop. But I have not been able to find the correct drivers/procedure to install them. The live USB is not able to boot regularly, and I get a blank screen. I am able boot the live USB only in the Compatibility mode where I get a warning that Linux Mint is running in software rendering mode. Anyways, I installed Linux Mint 16, but on booting up normally, again I run into the same issue - a blank screen. I then boot into the recovery mode, where I get the same 'software rendering mode' warning as with the live USB.

I checked the driver manager, and it showed me 3 options for the Geforce GTX 770M - (a) nvidia-319 verison 319.32 (b) nvidia-319-updates version 319.60 and (c) noveau - which is pre-selected as the main driver. I then tried the following things so far:
(a) Changed to nvidia-319 drivers. Result: Cinnamon Crash repeatedly. with message: "cinnamon just crashed. You are currently running in Fallback Mode."
(b) Changed to nvidia-319-updates drivers. Result: -- do -- [Same as above]
(c) Downloaded and installed the latest nvidia .run drivers package from nvidia's website and tried to install it in Recovery Mode, by first stopping MDM as: "sudo service mdm stop" and then installing the .run shell file. Results are the same as above.