Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby Ultumix on Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:43 pm

I can get into the XFCE menu editor and change the name of FireFox to Internet and other things but I can't seem to add things that I want to without it getting rid of them. What I'm trying to do is to make a Windows 98/XP style menu that people are use to.

I wanted to put a programs menu in there but even if it would let me I can't add the apps to the menu because I don't know the commands to start the programs. In KDE I can right click on the apps and tell it to put the commands in the run Decalogue or make shortcuts to the Desktop. Even if I could just make shortcuts to the desktop I could find out what commands the shortcuts were using.

Then I can't edit the submenues like the Accessories menu or the networking menu.

Please tell me what I'm doing wrong.
Ultumix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:51 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby molom on Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:54 am

Ultumix wrote:I can get into the XFCE menu editor and change the name of FireFox to Internet and other things but I can't seem to add things that I want to without it getting rid of them. What I'm trying to do is to make a Windows 98/XP style menu that people are use to.

I wanted to put a programs menu in there but even if it would let me I can't add the apps to the menu because I don't know the commands to start the programs. In KDE I can right click on the apps and tell it to put the commands in the run Decalogue or make shortcuts to the Desktop. Even if I could just make shortcuts to the desktop I could find out what commands the shortcuts were using.

Then I can't edit the submenues like the Accessories menu or the networking menu.

Please tell me what I'm doing wrong.


I don't think you can have sub menus/folders in the XFCE menu. You can do that in KDE, but I've haven't seen such a thing in XFCE, but I may be wrong.

Cheers,
molom
User avatar
molom
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 6:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby Ultumix on Sat Jan 19, 2008 1:14 am

There already are submenus in XFCE and they even add more menus when you install more programs and it lets you make your own. However it will delete your menus.
Ultumix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:51 am

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby merlwiz79 on Sat Jan 19, 2008 6:22 am

Everything that is in the menu is in /usr/share/applications
If you want to add anything to the menu you need to make a .desktop file in /usr/share/applications
Then it will show in the menu.
viewtopic.php?f=110&t=6202
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby Ultumix on Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:31 am

The XFCE menu.xml file can't be changed permanently as far as putting the apps under an All Programs menu.

<separator/>
<menu name="All Programs">
<include type="system" style="simple" unique="true" legacy="true"/>
</menu>
<separator/>

If you open the XFCE menu editor and make a submenu and stick the apps under it thats what you get. However if you save it and wait around a while it will change back to just
<seperator/>
<include type="system" style="simple" unique="true" legacy="true"/>
<seperator/>

I have no clue what to do. I've asked everyone. Ubuntu forums, XFCE IRC chat. etc.
Ultumix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:51 am

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby Ultumix on Tue Feb 12, 2008 2:13 am

Ok I talked to <kelnos|laptop> in the #XFCE IRC channel. He told me XFCE does not change it's menu.xml file back by itself so it's a mint script doing it in my OS.

So how do I fix this?
Ultumix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:51 am

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby merlwiz79 on Tue Feb 12, 2008 6:37 pm

There is no script that changes the menu.xml file.
Can you upload the file so I can test it.
Also did you try to save it in /etc/xdg/xfce4/desktop (this will make it the default)
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby Ultumix on Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:44 pm

merlwiz79 wrote:There is no script that changes the menu.xml file.
Can you upload the file so I can test it.
Also did you try to save it in /etc/xdg/xfce4/desktop (this will make it the default)


I already did that. And I attached the menu.xml so that you can look at it. Enjoy. You won't get it to work.
Ultumix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:51 am

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Feb 14, 2008 3:11 am

I don't see any attachments.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby Ultumix on Thu Feb 14, 2008 3:25 am

merlwiz79 wrote:I don't see any attachments.


Looks like the file upload didn't work. I'll have to do it again. But from what I've already posted you should be able to conduct the experiment.
Ultumix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:51 am

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby linuxviolin on Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:20 am

Ultumix, to make your menu you can try MenuMaker (I don't know if Ubuntu has a package for it, I'm not in Mint now. Maybe seek in Synaptic) It does not function with all WMs but for Xfce version 4 yes and it functions correctly. (I used it with Window Maker and IceWM)
Then you will have to better classify certain elements and probably to remove some (yes all is detected :wink:)

Make a backup of your current menu in case...

"
Like xfce is to produce a light and fast desktop, there exists for the moment no GUI to edit the menu of the applications obtained by right-click on the desktop. One can on the other hand edit the sub-menus of bases thanks to xfce4-menueditor.

It will be necessary to edit the menu manually in order to add or to remove a new application. For that, it is necessary to add a desktop file in /usr/share/applications or a suppression, to rename the desktop file application (for example, to rename firefox.desktop in firefox.backup)

All this will be done of course as root. To have an idea of the contents of a desktop file, make as root:
Code: Select all
nano /usr/share/applications/firefoxdesktop
"

For manually edit the xml file (the menu) you can see here :-)
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby Ultumix on Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:38 pm

linuxviolin wrote:Ultumix, to make your menu you can try MenuMaker (I don't know if Ubuntu has a package for it, I'm not in Mint now. Maybe seek in Synaptic) It does not function with all WMs but for Xfce version 4 yes and it functions correctly. (I used it with Window Maker and IceWM)
Then you will have to better classify certain elements and probably to remove some (yes all is detected :wink:)

Make a backup of your current menu in case...

"
Like xfce is to produce a light and fast desktop, there exists for the moment no GUI to edit the menu of the applications obtained by right-click on the desktop. One can on the other hand edit the sub-menus of bases thanks to xfce4-menueditor.

It will be necessary to edit the menu manually in order to add or to remove a new application. For that, it is necessary to add a desktop file in /usr/share/applications or a suppression, to rename the desktop file application (for example, to rename firefox.desktop in firefox.backup)

All this will be done of course as root. To have an idea of the contents of a desktop file, make as root:
Code: Select all
nano /usr/share/applications/firefoxdesktop
"

For manually edit the xml file (the menu) you can see here :-)


I don't have to worry about making a backup of my current menu because it will just replace the file.
Ultumix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:51 am

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby derekr44 on Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:37 am

VERY easy to do.

Do this in Terminal:
Code: Select all
cp /etc/xdg/xfce4/desktop/menu.xml ~/.config/xfce4/desktop/menu.xml


This will copy the menu config file to your ~/.config/xfce4/desktop directory. XFCE will use that file as your default menu setup as long as it's there. If you want to go back to the default, just get rid of the menu.xml file in that folder and it will go back to system default.

Open the file in mousepad (or any other text editor) and change it to your liking.
derekr44
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:30 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby Ultumix on Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:34 pm

derekr44 wrote:VERY easy to do.

Do this in Terminal:
Code: Select all
cp /etc/xdg/xfce4/desktop/menu.xml ~/.config/xfce4/desktop/menu.xml


This will copy the menu config file to your ~/.config/xfce4/desktop directory. XFCE will use that file as your default menu setup as long as it's there. If you want to go back to the default, just get rid of the menu.xml file in that folder and it will go back to system default.

Open the file in mousepad (or any other text editor) and change it to your liking.


I tried this already and it ignored my file. Oh well we have almost given up on XFCE.
Ultumix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:51 am

Re: Advanced XFCE Menu Editing. How do you do it?

Postby merlwiz79 on Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:19 pm

I am not sure why it doesn't work for you.
Copy and paste the text it the file and I will try it.
It is working fine here with the
Code: Select all
cp /etc/xdg/xfce4/desktop/menu.xml ~/.config/xfce4/desktop/menu.xml
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests