Newby can't unblock wireless HP G60

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
rsdhouse

Newby can't unblock wireless HP G60

Post by rsdhouse »

This is my first attempt at Linux. I'm a long time Windows user. My first install of 32-bit, i had multiple issues navigating the OS but my wifi worked. I subsequently installed various versions (32-bit and 64-bit) and wifi did not work. I'm now back on 32-bit Rafaela 17.2 and wifi will not work I have looked at the forums and tried the commands - nothing works. if someone can help me, great! Otherwise, I'm going back to Microsoft :(
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Pjotr
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Newby can't unblock wireless HP G60

Post by Pjotr »

Please generate an overview of your system like this:
- Launch a terminal window (this is how to launch a terminal window);
- make the terminal window full screen, to avoid chopped lines;
- copy/paste this command into the terminal:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
(if you type: the letter F is a capital letter)

Press Enter.

Copy/paste the output in your next message.

Also give the output of:

Code: Select all

sudo rfkill list all
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
rsdhouse

Post by rsdhouse »

Thank you for responding.

System: Host: HP-G60 Kernel: 3.16.0-38-generic i686 (32 bit, gcc: 4.8.2)
Desktop: Cinnamon 2.6.13 Distro: Linux Mint 17.2 Rafaela
Machine: System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP G60 Notebook PC version: F.54