Wireless device not working

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
dEhiN

Wireless device not working

Post by dEhiN »

Hi all, I'm new to LM and coming back to Linux after a number of years. So in many ways I'm like a newbie - I've forgotten a lot of my commands and how to troubleshoot. I have an HP EliteBook 6930p (Energy Star) with an Intel Core 2 Duo inside. I have installed LM 17.2 "Rafeala" MATE. The wireless works fine sometimes. It installed fine and I was able to add the connection for where I live (note: I don't have access to the router nor the SSID settings; I only know the password). It connected fine. But sometimes, especially after I hibernate and bring the computer back out of hibernation, the wifi fails to connect. It will try 3 or 4 times with no luck. Whenever this has happened I've tried various things, and eventually I get it to connect again. But it's not one specific thing that works every time. It seems more like random chance - eventually one or a combination of what I try works. So here's what I try when this happens:

1) Delete the connection and re-add it
2) Use 'rfkill block/unblock' to soft-block and unblock the wlan
3) Try 'ifdown wlan0 / ifup wlan 0' - sometimes I get a response that wlan isn't configured
4) I manually press the wireless adapter hotkey to turn it off and on
5) I check off 'Enable Wifi' and check it back on again in the taskbar (the network icon)
6) I click on the network icon and select the SSID even though it is saved (I try this usually after the 3rd or 4th time it fails to connect)
7) Log out and log back in
8) Restart
9) Shutdown, wait a few seconds, and boot back up