[Solved] HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
jbh911
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:23 am
Location: Gippsland, VIC AUS

[Solved] HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by jbh911 »

Linux Mint 17 installed - and only part of Network manager being installed and no WiFi available.
######
Installation was done with internet disconnected. A re-install with the internet connected, WiFi in this case, resulted in elimination of Network configuration issue, speeding up booting and enabling both ethernet & WiFi being fully functional.
Reported as a bug.
######

mike@mike-HP-Pavilion-g6-Notebook-PC ~ $ mintwifi
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-- Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
==> PCI ID = 14e4:4727 (rev 01)
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
eth0 no wireless extensions.

lo no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:off/any
Mode:Managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx-Power=27 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 2c:27:d7:d8:8c:25
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:20 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:20 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1424 (1.4 KB) TX bytes:1424 (1.4 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr cc:52:af:98:87:9b
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
[sudo] password for mike:
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

Suggestion to solve this issue would be greatly appreciated.

:?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
propilot01

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by propilot01 »

Hi, I have also an HP pavillon-G6 and have some issues with NM and WiFi connections but something different: if i try to connect to any WiFi it works excluded for those with a WPA2-enterprise protection, then NM ask me for the ca-certificate and when I try to choose one, it closes. I'm a newbiw with linux but i thought that if someone find a solution for you it might work also for me. If I find anything over the net, I will post here a possible solution.
jbh911
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:23 am
Location: Gippsland, VIC AUS

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by jbh911 »

G'day Propilot01. Which version of linux Mint are you using?
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13848
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by JeremyB »

That card might need firmware to work

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install linux-firmware
reboot, if it doesn't work post results from

Code: Select all

lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
jbh911
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:23 am
Location: Gippsland, VIC AUS

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by jbh911 »

Hi again JeremyB The firmware installed 1 new package, but it hasn't helped the WiFi issue. An interesting thing is - the internet connection icon has disappeared from the bottom panel. It was shown but OPEN with red + but with Ethernet functioning, as it is now.
The results:

mike@mike-HP-Pavilion-g6-Notebook-PC ~ $ lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter [14e4:4727] (rev 01)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:1483]
Kernel driver in use: bcma-pci-bridge
03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller [10ec:8136] (rev 05)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:1668]
Kernel driver in use: r8169

Thanks very much for your assistance, greatly appreciated.

Cheers jbh911 :D
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13848
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by JeremyB »

jbh911 wrote:Hi again JeremyB The firmware installed 1 new package, but it hasn't helped the WiFi issue. An interesting thing is - the internet connection icon has disappeared from the bottom panel. It was shown but OPEN with red + but with Ethernet functioning, as it is now.
The results:

mike@mike-HP-Pavilion-g6-Notebook-PC ~ $ lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter [14e4:4727] (rev 01)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:1483]
Kernel driver in use: bcma-pci-bridge
03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller [10ec:8136] (rev 05)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:1668]
Kernel driver in use: r8169

Thanks very much for your assistance, greatly appreciated.

Cheers jbh911 :D
With that installed you may need to

Code: Select all

echo "blacklist b43" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom.conf

Code: Select all

echo "blacklist ssb" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom.conf
and reboot
jbh911
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:23 am
Location: Gippsland, VIC AUS

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by jbh911 »

jbh911 wrote:With that installed you may need to

Code: Select all
echo "blacklist b43" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom.conf

Code: Select all
echo "blacklist ssb" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom.conf

and reboot
Completed above. Still no WiFi accessed. Noted the mintwifi now only shows the strongest WiFi source, see below.

mike@mike-HP-Pavilion-g6-Notebook-PC ~ $ iwlist scan
eth0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

lo Interface doesn't support scanning.

wlan0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:25:9C:83:C5:6A
Channel:11
Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
Quality=67/70 Signal level=-43 dBm
Encryption key:on
ESSID:"linksys"
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
11 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
Bit Rates:24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
Mode:Master
Extra:tsf=00000000d6139039
Extra: Last beacon: 554252ms ago
IE: Unknown: 00076C696E6B737973
IE: Unknown: 010882848B0C12961824
IE: Unknown: 03010B
IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
IE: Unknown: 2A0100
IE: Unknown: 32043048606C
IE: Unknown: DD180050F2020101020003A4000027A4000042435E0062322F00
IE: Unknown: DD1E00904C334E101BFFFF000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
IE: Unknown: 2D1A4E101BFFFF000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
IE: Unknown: DD1A00904C340B0F0800000000000000000000000000000000000000
IE: Unknown: 3D160B0F0800000000000000000000000000000000000000
IE: Unknown: DD0900037F01010000FF7F
IE: Unknown: DD0A00037F04010000000000
IE: Unknown: DD810050F204104A0001101044000102103B00010210470010E7FE1B918CD5031098DD00259C83C56A102100074C494E4B535953102300095741473136304E763210240007575343303030311042000C3030323539433833433536411054000800060050F2040001101100114C494E4B5359532D5741473136304E7632100800020084

mike@mike-HP-Pavilion-g6-Notebook-PC ~ $
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13848
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by JeremyB »

Do you have a computer running Linux that can connect to this access point? Does the iwlist scan still show TKIP?
jbh911
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:23 am
Location: Gippsland, VIC AUS

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by jbh911 »

Hi JeremyB. Yes, the 1 of 4 that is not effected. No, TKIP is not shown. See below. Also see output from ~$ sudo networkmanager below.
I've lodged a bug report this morning re Network Manager not functioning. The bug report is #1426776.

-Satellite-A200:~$ iwlist
Usage: iwlist [interface] scanning [essid NNN] [last]
[interface] frequency
[interface] channel
[interface] bitrate
[interface] rate
[interface] encryption
[interface] keys
[interface] power
[interface] txpower
[interface] retry
[interface] ap
[interface] accesspoints
[interface] peers
[interface] event
[interface] auth
[interface] wpakeys
[interface] genie
[interface] modulation
john@john-Satellite-A200:~$

Output from Medion Akoya laptop. Note attempts have been made to get WiFi functional on Medion.
~ $ sudo NetworkManager
[sudo] password for johnb:

(NetworkManager:2523): GLib-WARNING **: GError set over the top of a previous GError or uninitialized memory.
This indicates a bug in someone's code. You must ensure an error is NULL before it's set.
The overwriting error message was: Key file does not have group 'connectivity'
~ $ sudo nm-applet

[sudo] password for johnb:
nm-applet-Message: using fallback from indicator to GtkStatusIcon
----this doesn't return to ~$
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13848
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by JeremyB »

Did you use the same USB/DVD to install to both computers? If you still have it, boot it up and press any key when it does the countdown and check integrity of the media
jbh911
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:23 am
Location: Gippsland, VIC AUS

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by jbh911 »

Hi again. Both the 32 bit USB & DVD passed the integity check. The source iso's md5sums were also ckecked as part of the image process.
I'll check the 64 bit version later.

:)
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13848
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by JeremyB »

jbh911 wrote:Hi again. Both the 32 bit USB & DVD passed the integity check. The source iso's md5sums were also ckecked as part of the image process.
I'll check the 64 bit version later.

:)
See if the

Code: Select all

iwlist scan
have changed and hopefully TKIP isn't listed under you access point anymore
jbh911
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:23 am
Location: Gippsland, VIC AUS

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by jbh911 »

G'day! The LM 17 Mate 64 bit dvd integrity also passed muster.
~ $ iwlist scan
eth0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

lo Interface doesn't support scanning.

wlan0 Failed to read scan data : Network is down

TKIP didn't show up in previous ~$ iwlist.
jbh911
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:23 am
Location: Gippsland, VIC AUS

Re: HP Network Manager issue & no WiFi

Post by jbh911 »

CORRECTION: The laptops with the issue are all 64 bit! The laptop I've had access via WiFi has the 32 bit version of LM 17 Mate, which hasn't been updated yet. There are 3 x 64 bit laptops running LM 17 Mate all with Network Manager non functional and all up to date.
Toshiba 200A 32 bit updated and WiFi functioning fine.
************************************
When I installed Linux Mint 17 64 bit to the Medion, the HP & the Toshiba I didn't included an internet connection in the process.
Have discovered a fix for this issue. When installing Linux Mint 17 make sure WiFi is selected. If you do that you won't have problems with WiFi.

I re-installed LM17 to the HP and Toshiba laptops and ensured the WiFi was connected as part of the install process, and bingo, the WiFi continued to function.
So it appears that there is something missing in the booting process to get the Network Manager up and going if you DON'T use WiFi or maybe Ethernet. Haven't tried the Ethernet. I'll do that on the Medion later.
********************************
Locked

Return to “Networking”