weak signal and dropping in and out connection

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
jermainered

weak signal and dropping in and out connection

Post by jermainered »

Hi all i have recently just taken the plunge and installed linux mint. I am still quite new to linux and learning the system i am writing this now using linux mint and my wifi connection.
The problem is the signal at best is 50% sometimes as low as 40% also the connection drops in and out randomly. Sometimes i can use it for an hour no problems other times its just 5 or 10 minutes a lot of times it reconnects within 30 seconds but after a few disconnects sometimes it wont reconnect until after a system restart.

I have done a little research but like i said i am quite new to linux i read that it could be the power management on the wireless card so i used the terminal and typed 'iwconfig'
and it turns out the power management is of any way here is the result:

jermaine@jermaine-300E4A-300E5A-300E7A ~ $ ipconfig
No command 'ipconfig' found, did you mean:
Command 'ifconfig' from package 'net-tools' (main)
Command 'tpconfig' from package 'tpconfig' (universe)
Command 'iwconfig' from package 'wireless-tools' (main)
ipconfig: command not found
jermaine@jermaine-300E4A-300E5A-300E7A ~ $ iwconfig
eth0 no wireless extensions.

lo no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:"WLC-01-02"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: 00:1D:E5:4D:D1:61
Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=15 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=38/70 Signal level=-72 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

jermaine@jermaine-300E4A-300E5A-300E7A ~ $