Trying to get my Neat (NR-030108) scanner to work.

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
tanker001
Level 1
Level 1

Trying to get my Neat (NR-030108) scanner to work.

Post by tanker001 »

I'm experienced with PCs since the DOS days but I'm a major newbie to Linux, I think this is the best place for this.

I would like to begin by saying that I have never experienced a great combination of hardware (scanner) and accompanying software. It has been my experience that either the scanner is great and the software sucks or the scanner sucks and the software is great. To me the Neat scanner (Model NR-030108) is a great little workhorse of a scanner. However, it's proprietary nature, where it doesn't work with anything but the NeatWorks software, will prevent me from buying another one. The software may work but it is bloated and overkill when you all you do is scan everything to PDF. However, it does a great job of scanning the receipt, auto adjusting the "exposure"(?), auto cropping, OCR and spitin' out a PDF.

Has anyone gotten the Neat (Model NR-030108) to work in Linux the way it does in its native windows? With native Linux software, not necessarily with the NeatWorks software. I use this scanner on a weekly basis to scan a handful of receipts to store in Quicken. Giving the advertising push I see of these Neat scanners on TV I'm hoping someone out there has set up one of these before.