Can't install Mint on Dell Inspiron 8100

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
cornwallav8r

Can't install Mint on Dell Inspiron 8100

Post by cornwallav8r »

I freshly formatted a 40 gig hardrive with gparted, in prep for a standalone Mint installation.
But it hangs up partway through the install with the LinuxMint logo and the changing color dots below, no textual error or anything.
As I am a beginner Linuxer, would be most appreciative as to some assistance what to look for...thanks much...
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Can't install Mint on Dell Inspiron 8100

Post by rivenathos »

Welcome to the forum. Have you tried booting with "Compatibility Mode" yet?
Current hardware: a Dell OptiPlex 3010 desktop, a Dell Inspiron 531 desktop, and a Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop.
Current OS: LMDE 3
cornwallav8r

Post by cornwallav8r »

Yes, that didn;t work either. What is frustrating to a new user, is no text indicating where it crashes.
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6

Post by rivenathos »

I have had something similar to this happen before. If you are using a Live CD to install, try this. I know it is going to sound odd, but I have had good luck with it in the past. Instead of burning the ISO onto a CD, burn it onto a DVD. There is something about the SquashFS that might be causing your headaches. When I switched to using a DVD instead of a CD, I have had no more booting errors. My problems started with Mint 8, I think. I automatically burn to DVDs these days.
Current hardware: a Dell OptiPlex 3010 desktop, a Dell Inspiron 531 desktop, and a Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop.
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6

Post by rivenathos »