[Solved]Can't get conky to work on LMDE 2 (systemd) either.

Add functionality to your desktop
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

[Solved]Can't get conky to work on LMDE 2 (systemd) either.

Post by mzsade »

Hi, Switched to systemd as per @xenopeek's instructions and assurance here; :wink: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 1#p1106741 in the hope that i'd somehow get my conky working,

Code: Select all

~ $ cat /proc/1/comm
systemd
~ $ uname -a
Linux sinai 3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt7-1 (2015-03-01) x86_64 GNU/Linux

Code: Select all

~ $ conky -v
Conky 1.9.0 compiled Wed Sep 10 07:11:34 UTC 2014 for Linux 3.2.0-4-amd64 (x86_64)

Compiled in features:

System config file: /etc/conky/conky.conf
Package library path: /usr/lib/conky

 X11:
  * Xdamage extension
  * XDBE (double buffer extension)
  * Xft
  * ARGB visual

 Music detection:
  * Audacious
  * MPD
  * MOC
  * XMMS2

 General:
  * math
  * hddtemp
  * portmon
  * Curl
  * RSS
  * Weather (METAR)
  * Weather (XOAP)
  * wireless
  * support for IBM/Lenovo notebooks
  * nvidia
  * eve-online
  * config-output
  * Imlib2
  * apcupsd
  * iostats
  * ncurses
  * Lua

  Lua bindings:
   * Cairo
   * Imlib2
Adapted the ~/.config/conky/conky.conf format as per the default in /etc/conky/conky.conf as below:

Code: Select all

# Conky, a system monitor, based on torsmo
#
# Any original torsmo code is licensed under the BSD license
#

alignment top_right
background noo
cpu_avg_samples 2
top_cpu_separate no
default_color #E2E2E2
draw_borders yes
border_width 4
border_inner_margin 3
use_xft yes
xftfont DejaVu Sans Mono:bold:size=11
gap_x 10
gap_y 10
net_avg_samples 2
no_buffers yes
double_buffer true
out_to_console no
out_to_stderr no
extra_newline no
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar
own_window_class Conky
own_window_transparent yes
override_utf8_locale yes
stippled_borders 0
update_interval 9
uppercase no
use_spacer none
hddtemp_host
hddtemp_port
lua_load ~/scripts/clock.lua
lua_draw_hook_pre draw_clock

TEXT
${font LCDMono:bold:size=12}
$alignc $Distribution Sid 
$alignc $sysname 4.3.3$machine
$alignc${color}$font${time %a,%e %b,%Y}
$alignc$color$font${time %I:%M:%S %p}

 ${execi 2 tail -n 2 /tmp/conky-daylight-inf.result}
${hr 3}
$alignc Uptime:$uptime
${hr 3}
 RAM: $mem $memwithbuffers $memperc%
$alignc       ${memwithbuffersbar 3,200}        
 Swap:$swap  $alignc $swapperc%
${hr 3}
 Core1:$color${cpu cpu1}%       ${alignc}CPU$alignr${if_existing /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon1/temp2_input} Temp:${hwmon 1 temp 2}°C ${else} Temp:${hwmon 2 temp 2}°C ${endif}
 Core2:$color${cpu cpu2}%      $alignc ${cpu cpu0}%$alignr${if_existing /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon1/temp3_input} Temp:${hwmon 1 temp 3}°C ${else} Temp:${hwmon 2 temp 3}°C ${endif}
 Core3:$color${cpu cpu3}%      $alignc Freq$alignr${if_existing /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon1/temp4_input} Temp:${hwmon 1 temp 4}°C ${else} Temp:${hwmon 2 temp 4}°C ${endif}
 Core4:$color${cpu cpu4}%     $alignc ${freq}MHz $alignr${if_existing /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon1/temp5_input} Temp:${hwmon 1 temp 5}°C ${else} Temp:${hwmon 2 temp 5}°C ${endif}
${hr 3}
$alignc HDD Temp:$color${hddtemp /dev/sda}°C
 Root:${fs_used /} $alignc Used:${fs_used_perc /}%
$alignc${fs_bar 3,200 /}
 Home:${fs_used /home} $alignc Used:${fs_used_perc /home}%
${hr 3}
 MAC  Addr $alignc${execi 3 ip -o link show eth0 | sed -r 's/^.*link\/ether ([^ ]*) .*$/\1/'}
 Public IP $alignc${execi 4 wget -q -O - checkip.dyndns.org | sed -e 's/[^[:digit:]\|.]//g'}
 Local  IP $alignc${addr} 
 Down Speed:${downspeed eth0} Up Speed:${upspeed eth0}
${hr 3}
  Top Process       ${alignc}CPU       Memory
 ${top name 1} $alignc${top cpu 1}%    ${top mem 1}%
 ${top name 2} $alignc${top cpu 2}%    ${top mem 2}%
 ${top name 3} $alignc${top cpu 3}%    ${top mem 3}%
 ${top name 4} $alignc${top cpu 4}%    ${top mem 4}%
 ${top name 5} $alignc${top cpu 5}%    ${top mem 5}%
${hr 3}
$alignc Battery
 ${battery BAT0}
$alignc${battery_bar 3,200 BAT0
}

Still get Segmentation error;

Code: Select all

 ~ $ conky -c ~/.config/conky/conky.conf
Segmentation fault
Could someone please help me out, it's not a critical issue but it nags at me because i haven't the faintest why or where to begin troubleshooting and the default example in /etc/conky/conky.conf works just fine.
Default conky.conf:

Code: Select all

#

alignment top_right
background no
border_width 1
cpu_avg_samples 2
default_color orange
default_outline_color orange
default_shade_color orange
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders yes
draw_outline no
draw_shades no
use_xft yes
xftfont DejaVu Sans Mono:size=12
gap_x 5
gap_y 60
minimum_size 5 5
net_avg_samples 2
no_buffers yes
double_buffer yes
out_to_console no
out_to_stderr no
extra_newline no
own_window yes
own_window_class Conky
own_window_type desktop
own_window_transparent yes
stippled_borders 0
update_interval 1.0
uppercase no
use_spacer none
show_graph_scale no
show_graph_range no

TEXT
${scroll 16 $nodename - $sysname $kernel on $machine | }
$hr
${color grey}Uptime:$color $uptime
${color grey}Frequency (in MHz):$color $freq
${color grey}Frequency (in GHz):$color $freq_g
${color grey}RAM Usage:$color $mem/$memmax - $memperc% ${membar 4}
${color grey}Swap Usage:$color $swap/$swapmax - $swapperc% ${swapbar 4}
${color grey}CPU Usage:$color $cpu% ${cpubar 4}
${color grey}Processes:$color $processes  ${color grey}Running:$color $running_processes
$hr
${color grey}File systems:
 / $color${fs_used /}/${fs_size /} ${fs_bar 6 /}
${color grey}Networking:
Up:$color ${upspeed eth0} ${color grey} - Down:$color ${downspeed eth0}
$hr
${color grey}Name              PID   CPU%   MEM%
${color lightgrey} ${top name 1} ${top pid 1} ${top cpu 1} ${top mem 1}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 2} ${top pid 2} ${top cpu 2} ${top mem 2}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 3} ${top pid 3} ${top cpu 3} ${top mem 3}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 4} ${top pid 4} ${top cpu 4} ${top mem 4}
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 29597
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am

Re: Can't get conky to work on LMDE 2 (systemd) either.

Post by xenopeek »

When a program gives you a segmentation fault it can be helpful to run it with strace (install it if needed). strace dumps the system calls the program makes to your terminal. Especially the few lines just before the segmentation fault can shed some light on what is happening. Try with:

Code: Select all

strace conky -c ~/.config/conky/conky.conf
Image
User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

[SOLVED] Re: Can't get conky to work on LMDE 2 (systemd) eit

Post by mzsade »

Thanks a lot, the strace tip is a handy one to keep in mind, but i plodded my way into making this work by first getting rid of the following;

Code: Select all

hddtemp_host
hddtemp_port
lua_load ~/scripts/clock.lua
lua_draw_hook_pre draw_clock
After it worked, i tried putting the lua.clock back in and it still worked! Except for $distribution, $memwithbuffers and $memwithbuffersbar everything works just fine, even hddtemp. :D
Screenshot.png
Oh, and systemd is a treat, it's a lot faster, my boot time has halved despite the "a start job is running for udev Wait for Complete device initialization" slowing it down somewhat.
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008
Locked

Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks & Widgets”