Conky Window Not "Tall" Enough...

Add functionality to your desktop
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
JokerFMJ
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 7:31 pm

Conky Window Not "Tall" Enough...

Post by JokerFMJ »

I'm using this Conky as a base and adding/adjusting things as I see fit. The problem I have run into is that the Conky window seems too short to display everything; the Network portion of the Conky is cut off. It is in fact showing, as where the information is cut off in such a way that I can see half the top half of the letters/numbers on that line. Also, when I remove some of the information I have added that portion shows fine, so it is apparent to me that it is some kind of window height issue.

I'm sure this is a simple question, and despite searching google and trying what I found there, nothing seems to be working to correct this issue. How do I increase the height of my Conky window?

I have included the code below.

Thanks!

Code: Select all

background yes
update_interval 1
total_run_times 0

cpu_avg_samples 1
net_avg_samples 2
temperature_unit celsius

double_buffer yes
no_buffers yes
text_buffer_size 2048

gap_x 10
gap_y 30
minimum_size 190 350
maximum_width 320
own_window yes
own_window_type conky
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorate,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager,below
border_inner_margin 0
border_outer_margin 0
alignment tr

draw_shades yes
draw_outline yes
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders yes

override_utf8_locale yes
use_xft yes
xftfont caviar dreams:size=8
xftalpha 0.5
uppercase no

default_color 6F96F9
color0 Royalblue3	
color1 Grey		
color2 6F96F9	
color3 Royalblue3
color4 6F96F9	
color5 DDDDDD
color6 AAAAAA
color7 888888
color8 666666
color9 FFFFFF

TEXT
${color1}Linux-Mint .. Cinnamon ${color} ${hr 3} 
${color1}$alignr from freedom came elegance
${color9}${font :Bold:size=14} $alignc ${time %H}:${time %M}
${color}${font :Bold:size=14} $alignc ${time %h} ${time %e} - ${time %Y}${font :Bold:size=08} 
$alignc(${time %A})
${color8}$alignc Uptime: $uptime
${color}$sysname $kernel        System:$nodename        $machine
${color9}CPU & Memory $hr:
${color}CPU Temperature: $alignr ${hwmon temp 1}C
${color}CPU Usage:${color0}$alignr${cpubar 8,145} ${color1}$cpu%@${freq_g cpu}GHz

${color1}${cpugraph 15,320 000000 ff0000}$color
Core 1: ${freq 0} MHz
${cpu cpu0}% ${color 597DB2}${cpubar cpu0}$color
Core 2: ${freq 1} MHz
${cpu cpu1}% ${color 597DB2}${cpubar cpu1}$color
Core 3: ${freq 2} MHz
${cpu cpu2}% ${color 597DB2}${cpubar cpu2}$color
Core 4: ${freq 3} MHz
${cpu cpu3}% ${color 597DB2}${cpubar cpu3}$color

${color}RAM ${alignr}${color1}DDR3 PC3-14900 -- $mem / $memmax ($memperc%)
${color0}${membar 8}
${color}Highest CPU & Memory $alignr CPU% MEM%
${color6}${top name 1}$alignr${top cpu 1} ${top mem 1}
${color7}${top name 2}$alignr${top cpu 2} ${top mem 2}
${color8}${top name 3}$alignr${top cpu 3} ${top mem 3}
${color8}${top name 4}$alignr${top cpu 4} ${top mem 4}
${color8}${top name 5}$alignr${top cpu 5} ${top mem 5}

${color4}HDD:
${color1}Linux:${color1}(${fs_type})${alignr}${color5}${fs_size /}>${color6}${fs_used /}${color0}${alignr}${fs_bar 8,75} ${color7}(${fs_used_perc /}%)
${color3}HDD Read-> ${alignc}${color2}${diskio_read}/s ${alignr}${color3}${diskio_write}/s ${color7}<-HDD Write
${color1}${diskiograph_read 10,150 000000 ff0000} ${alignr}${color1}${diskiograph_write 10,150 000000 ff0000}$color
${color9}Networks $hr:
${color4}Net:${color} ${alignr}${color7}IP: ${addr eth1}
${color3}Download: ${color2}${downspeed eth1} k/s ${alignr} $alignr${color3}Upload: ${color3} ${upspeed eth1} k/s
${color}${downspeedgraph 15,140} ${alignr}${color}${upspeedgraph 15,140}
${color7}Total Download: ${color2}${totaldown eth1} ${alignr}${color7}Total Upload: ${color3}${totalup eth1}
${image ~/.conky/logo.png -p 0,10 -s 75x75}
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Orbmiser

Re: Conky Window Not "Tall" Enough...

Post by Orbmiser »

Code: Select all

minimum_size 190 350
maximum_width 320
or

Code: Select all

border_inner_margin 0
border_outer_margin 0
As had a conky text cutting off and changing the border_outer_margin 0 to 10 helped.
And would think changing the 190 in minimum size to something else may increase size.

Before changing make sure you make a backup of the conky file.
As no expert here and the blind leading the blind here.
.
JokerFMJ
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 7:31 pm

Re: Conky Window Not "Tall" Enough...

Post by JokerFMJ »

Thanks for the help, it kind of worked, but not quite in the way I was hoping. By adjusting the border_outer_margin is actually adjusts the entire border, width and height, so there is an extended portion on the left hand side that is just empty and completely wasted/unusable space on my desktop. Adjusting the minimum_size 190 didn't appear to have any effect.

I have included a screenshot of what exactly is happening in case my previous explanation wasn't sufficient (i can be a bit wordy and confuse things sometimes... lol)

Thanks.

Image
JokerFMJ
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 7:31 pm

Re: Conky Window Not "Tall" Enough...

Post by JokerFMJ »

I don't know what happened, because I haven't done anything other than actually add a few more lines, but somehow it's fixed... Even though I enjoy the fact that it's fixed, I hate not knowing how it's fixed in case it happens again...
Habitual

Re: Conky Window Not "Tall" Enough...

Post by Habitual »

sometimes text_buffer_size just needs more "room" (for the buffer output)
and extra carriage return or two sometimes will do the trick.

But watch the

Code: Select all

gap_x
gap_y
minimum_size 
maximum_width 
too. ;)
Locked

Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks & Widgets”