NEW CINNAMON INSTALL begins to stall and hang

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
johnniedoo

NEW CINNAMON INSTALL begins to stall and hang

Post by johnniedoo »

I have just put Mint 17.1Rebecca with Cinnamon on a computer I just put together with spare parts. I have no experience at all with Cinnamon and only been using Mint 17 MATE since last July or Aug.
I have encountered all kinds of issues with hanging, being very sluggish since I put it in 3days ago.
First reason I thought was my 4Logitech devices with a Nano or Unified usb wireless connection and I noticed the cursor freeezing and moving in a choppy manner. So, after researching and reading a few dozen posts i found Solaar and the problem went away, just needed to pair the couple of things i needed and all was well plus I installed a panel sensor monitor
Then, after a day or little more I noticed that there were serious slowdowns. though the mouse cursor was nice and smooth and the sensors showed I had 50% swap and a huge spike in the memory indicator curve up to 95%. I read about cinnamon memory leaks and some issues i didnt quite follow exactly but opted to install the meta-mate option to see how that worked out because i was going to just get rid of cinnamon all together. I have been using MATE in Mint17 to 17.1 without any hassle at all that I didnt cause myself by blundering about and they were minimal issues from learning how to work Linux from windows7 and mac before that