cinnamon crashes...

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
nhmarshall

cinnamon crashes...

Post by nhmarshall »

Hello everyone. I'm a bit new to Linux and for the most part I'm very pleased with how everything is running. I do have one issue. Whenever I log out I normally click on the power icon in the upper-right corner and then suspend (to preserve battery life). The issue is every time I power everything back up, the login screen appears and I put in my password, then it loads quite slowly only to eventually show me a message that says Cinnamon has crashed. Whenever I suspend through the terminal without logging out this problem never occurs. But, I would like to be able to log out before suspending. Has anyone a solution to this problem?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Pjotr
Level 23
Level 23

Re: cinnamon crashes...

Post by Pjotr »

In this case you might try if the level 4 and 5 updates can be of help. Make them all visible first, in the settings of Update Manager (by default, only the security updates for those levels are visible). Afterwards, reboot.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
karlchen
Level 23
Level 23

Post by karlchen »

Hi, guys.

Which Linux Mint are we talking about exactly? Linux Mint 17 "Qiana" Cinnamon or Linux Mint 17.1 "Rebecca" Cinnamon?