Mint Cinnamon and Kdenlive interface

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
WJacques

Mint Cinnamon and Kdenlive interface

Post by WJacques »

​Hi,

I am a Linux newbie (several days only) I installed Mint Qiana Cinnamon and ​and today I have installed Kdenlive. Video editing is not my profession but I edit quite a lot for my personal use ( trip movies, family stuff, small movies for my work and more)

On Windows 7 I use Adobe Premiere but since I installed Mint several days ago I find myself using Mint 90% of my time and I would like to stay in Mint to edit videos with Kdenlive and not to logout and then login to Win 7 just to edit on Premiere

My problem with Kdenlive is the color of the interface: it is too bright and is very distracting at least for me. I am used to work with the dark interface of Premiere which help to concentrate on what I am editing. This is not a deal breaker but I would like a dark interface for my video editor.

In Kdenlive under "Settings" there is a "Themes" option but there is only one theme available , the default theme. I have seen many screenshots of Kednlive with a dark theme. Do you know how it is possible to install such dark theme for Kdenlive in Mint? By the way, I have tried Kdenlive with Mint KDE and under Settings there are many Theme options. From the Kdenlive forum I have been told to "explore Cinnamon's desktop theme/color options. Kdenlive will still rely upon the desktop manager for thematic support - even for Mint Cinnamon" I have explored the settings but did not find any setting that gives a dark theme to Kdenlive in Mint Cinnamaon

I am not only a Linux/Mint and Kdenlive newbie but also not tech-savvy at all so please use simple step by step explanations.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.