Lost Super and Compose Key

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Stubor
Level 1
Level 1

Lost Super and Compose Key

Post by Stubor »

Novice here using Linux Mint 17 Cinnamon.

I was attempting to set the third tier key when I noticed that the Super/Win key no longer functioned, nor did the compose key (menu). I fiddled with the settings for keyboard>keyboard layouts>options and finally just cleared all the settings. I used dconf to default the xkb-options for Cinnamon and Gnome, and reset the keyboard to English-International; no joy though. Any ideas how to un-fubar this? :oops:
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Stubor
Level 1
Level 1

Re: Lost Super and Compose Key

Post by Stubor »

Okay, the Super key error is resolved. Somehow I deleted to mapping which just needed restoring. The compose key still does not work however. :|
myrkat
Level 2
Level 2

Post by myrkat »

I am running Mint 17 KDE, and have not had any functionality with my super key (though, I have not looked to set it to anything); however, I do map my compose key (to scroll lock) and find that it only works in a select few applications (note plasmoid widget, dolphin file manager, kate, etc) and most do not work at all (browsers, LibreOffice, Skype, etc).

It is frustrating to no end, and am wondering if it is something Mint 17 did with a setting file somewhere.
Main Comp: i7-4770K @ 3.5GHz + nVidia 760GTX + 16GB RAM + SSD + HDD²
Linux Mint 17.2 - KDE 4.14.2 - kernel 3.16.0-38-generic
Join me and become a Linux Mint Community Sponsor and share some love! (for as little as USD$20 a month)
anandrkris

Post by anandrkris »

myrkat
Level 2
Level 2

Post by myrkat »