keyboard shortcut problems, Mint 16

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
stoffe

Post by stoffe »

Hi, searched the forum and the net but didn't see this specific issue, if I missed something please feel free to point me in the right direction.

I use Linux Mint at work ("trying out" would maybe be more appropriate to say, been using diverse Linuxes at home and work for many years but I am new to Mint).

My main development application is IntelliJ IDEA which has pretty novel notions on keyboard shortcuts - they are not following any other standard, not when compared to Win or Mac either. Among the things is that many useful everyday commands are mapped on CTRL-ALT-something, which also are common in Mint. To my specific troubles:

* I've disabled CTRL-ALT-T in Keyboard settings but it still opens a Terminal. Verified and re-verified that it's saying disabled. Can it be defined in more places?

* I've disabled CTRL-ALT-L in Keyboard settings and this works, however I was trying to map Super-L to locking screen instead but that doesn't work. Seems Super-combinations does not work, or am I missing something?

Thankful for any pointers, and asking here before filing a bug in case it's just me, otherwise I'll be happy to file a report as well.

Thanks!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Kalyk
Level 5
Level 5

Re: keyboard shortcut problems, Mint 16

Post by Kalyk »

The Ctrl-Alt-T I see literally under Keyboard-Shortcuts under Starters-Open terminalwindow (translated from Dutch, might be a little different for you).
Is that the place where you removed or altered it?